Review of The Distance Between Us by Jen at the Dandelions Inspired Blog

About the book:
For fans of Marian Keyes, Hurrah for Gin and Allison Pearson. A tear-jerking but uplifting modern love story about motherhood and marriage.
Happy children, happy husband, happily ever after?

Tasha knows that she should count her blessings: married for eleven years, mother to three healthy children, she should be content with her lot. However, feelings of frustration have settled over her like a dark cloud. Despite living under the same roof and sharing the same bed, Tasha has never felt so distant from her husband, Charlie. She feels worn down by the mental load of motherhood, drowning in the never-ending chores that keep the family and household afloat. Most of all she worries that her once happy marriage is slipping away from her.
Tasha longs for something to change, but when change comes calling will it really be the answer she was hoping for? And is it possible to fall in love with the same person twice?
A modern-day love story about family, marriage and risking it all to have it all.
**My Review**
Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Georgie Capron’s latest novel, The Distance Between Us. I am a huge fan of Georgie’s so I was really excited to take part in this tour. Once again, she has created a thought-provoking novel about real life with real people, and how messy it all can be.
After eleven years of marriage, Tasha is becoming overwhelmed with motherhood and underwhelmed with her relationship with her husband Charlie. Parents to three children, Charlie is often working late and busy at the office while Tasha is dropping kids off, picking kids up, cleaning, shopping, cooking, dealing with meltdowns, and so on. This is not a new topic, as I think all mothers have been there and felt what Tasha was feeling. However, Tasha continues feeling that she and Charlie are growing further apart until things are done and said that cannot be undone. Soon, she begins to realize how lucky she really was and longs to regain their happy family unit.
Not sure where to begin with Tasha except, as I said before, all of us have been there where you want to pull your hair out because you’re so frustrated with tantrums, chores, cooking, bath times, bedtimes, forgetting about school projects, and so on. That’s life, simple as that. But when you couple that with a frequently absent spouse and a marriage where the flame has burned out, this could equal trouble in paradise.
As for Charlie, I respected his role as a father, provider, etc. but he seriously ignored his wife and her feelings. His response to her when she tried to discuss things was to either sweep it under the rug or completely blow up on her. So, along with all of Tasha’s inner worries and stresses, this marriage was completely lacking in positive communication.
Nevertheless, Tasha’s actions were not justifiable. After everything falls apart, the reader is subjected to a great deal of Tasha whining, either to herself or to her friends Flo and Rosie. I felt bad for her in that we are human and we screw up, yet I was so pleasantly surprised when she started getting herself together, sucking it up and carrying on. Once Tasha started working again, got an afternoon sitter, and started embracing her new life, she appeared less pathetic and more strong. Charlie was very unpredictable as he tried to come to terms with everything and adjust to their new life, which was understandable, but his hot and cold attitude towards Tasha became frustrating after awhile.
Regardless if I or any reader agree with Tasha’s actions, Charlie’s response, etc., Georgie Capron consistently develops such in-depth characters, exposing all of their flaws, feelings, and regrets. There are no subtle hints regarding anything about her characters because as the reader, you hear, see, and feel it all along with the characters. Her plot is very relatable and relevant, making it effortless for readers to identify and become invested in the story. It’s as if she develops a story and sends out as a gift to readers, saying “I get this, this stuff happens, life is messy.”
I highly recommend The Distance Between Us, as well as, any of Georgie Capron novels. She continues to impress me with her engaging novels and I cannot wait to read what comes next!